Skip to content

The next frontier…choreography

April 6, 2012

One of my big dreams and goals in dance is to do choreography for stage. Not just your run-of-the-mill competition routines so common in ballroom, but theatrical spectacles of ballroom and partner dance used in new and inventive ways.  I’m very excited to share I’ll be debuting a piece at this spring’s edition of LA Unbound. For those of you in SoCal, tickets can be purchased here through LA Unbound.  It is an excellent show of a variety of styles and I highly recommend based on my personal experiences as well as the caliber of their shows. Shows usually sell out, so purchase your tickets sooner than later.

So, what do I have in store for audiences? Let’s just say it’s a mix of jazz and partner dancing with some pantomime thrown in for fun. I don’t want to give away too many details, as that will take away from the surprise.  I will say it is a lot of fun to teach classically trained dancers ballroom dance moves, both in solo and partner work.  They have all been open-minded enough to push their boundaries and I’m very grateful for their hard work.  Likewise, the ballroom dancers have been equally open to learning classical movement.  I feel very blessed to have such a great group of dancers.  Plus it is invigorating to mix and match ideas and patterns from such diverse areas of my training.  Leaps followed by samba walks and voltas followed by emboites  en tournant.

My hope, of course, is that this piece will be the first of many to come to fruition and successfully at that. Perhaps it will open the doors to more complex creations, collaborations with other dancers and artists, bigger venues and events. In the many interviews I have posted my all-time favorite question is to ask choreographers what advice they have for other dancers. Every answer I read gives me hope, inspiration and invigorates me to not give up on my path to choreography. It is time to pull back the curtains and find out what lies out there. It is exhilarating and nerve-wracking all at once.   So far, the journey has been a learning experience, a validation of my desire to choreograph and a challenge to bring all the pieces together, but I have loved each and every step.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

