Skip to content

On the runway…Project 2011

January 4, 2012

When I was younger, I was the proto-typical geek.  I hung out with the goody two-shoes, straight A crowd and spent most of my free time buried in books, studying at the library.  At a not-so-statuesque 5-foot, 3-inches, visions for my future did not include runway modeling.  In fact, I attended a fashion runway event not even a month ago and commented on how I couldn’t see myself strutting down the runway.  And yet, last month I had a very unexpected, last minute opportunity to do just that.  At Project 2011, I could be found walking down the catwalk, dancing down the catwalk and in general channeling my inner and outer beauty to present a new dancewear line, JM Dancesport.

Yes, folks….that’s me!

First of all I have to say it was an amazing experience and to give a hearty round of thanks to the designer, makeup artists, and photographers who made it possible.  So how did this come about?  Well, I answered an ad that was looking for ballroom dancers for a fashion event.  Not one to be content with your everyday dance opportunities, I responded.  It was a long shot as I don’t have a partner currently and could only attend one day of the two day event.  To my surprise, they asked if I would be available to model and dance for the one day I could come, no partner needed.  Obviously I said yes.

Two days of frantic packing, preparing extra business cards, seeking out a fashion forward wardrobe and booking some time with my friend who is a makeup artist, and I was set.  Hollywood here I come!   The designer was a wonderfully sweet woman, who has worked in the industry for decades, and was finally setting out on her own.  She was excited I had come.  It turned out I was the only model with ballroom experience. Not only did she want me to walk down the runway, but also to actually dance.  I’m pretty sure I must be one of the very few people, if not only one, to have actually danced on a fashion runway.

What I thought would be nerve-wracking (for the evening event I was the very first model to go out), ended up being an exercise in truly owning my confidence.  Even with no experience, several inches shorter and I’m sure a few years older than most of the “real” models, I mustered up my internal strength and channeled all the supportive, loving comments I have received over the years from  family and friends – and then I went for it.  It was liberating and gratifying.  It was truly one of those “step outside of your comfort zone” moments when you discover how far you can go and what you’re capable of.

So lessons learned – never limit what you think you can or cannot do.  By all the typical modeling standards, I would never have stepped foot out on a runway nor is it something I would have truly considered.  Yet there I was, doing exactly that at a bona fide modeling and fashion event. Second, believe in yourself and listen to the voices of those who believe in you.  Those voices of confidence will help you achieve things you never dreamed possible. And finally, live in the moment. Enjoy it! Own it!

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 16, 2012 12:58 am

    This is so cool! Thanks for sharing the pictures. I think the fashion show was lucky to have you involved. There’s nothing like graceful, dramatic motion to make costumes come alive. Good for you being willing to try something new and different!

Leave a Reply

