Skip to content

My first Nutcracker…

December 30, 2011

Unlike most dancers who have been in the Nutcracker, I did not make it to the stage while my age was still in the single digits.  Nor did I dance ballet. Gasp!  Indeed, I made my late blossoming debut later than most, but not with any less enthusiasm.  This winter I danced in a reimagined version called Nutcracker Unbound, put on by the amazing people who run LA Unbound. [And by the way, thanks for your contributions on Kickstarter – we made our fundraising goal and had a kick ass show!]

The show took the overall story of the Nutcracker and did a bit of an Alice in Wonderland treatment.  While there were some pointe shoes to be found, there were also chorus lines, hip hop armies, a magician, aerialists, toddlers in angel costumes, Spanish fans and generous doses of jazz and contemporary.  Based upon the thunderous applause by the audience in the sold out theater (1300 tickets in all), the reimagining was a hit.  Everyone I talked to loved the show and enjoyed the departure from the traditional ballet version.

For myself, the show was a complete whirlwind.  Being in four pieces meant constant costumes changes and quickly becoming adept at running up and down stairs as fast as possible.  My previous post touched on some of the prep work I did in order to keep all of my costumes, hair and make up requirements straight, so that I could stay focused on performing.   I have to say this was one of my favorite shows to date.  So much energy and excitement backstage, the thrill of doing so many diverse pieces and of course the fun make up from Waltz of the Flowers that channeled every color of the rainbow.  I also got to work with two of my favorite choreographers at LA Unbound and had the opportunity to dance with some new ones as well.

Overall another enchanting production, with many new friends made and the satisfaction of proudly saying I’m a dancer…and yes, I have been in the Nutcracker!

Nutcracker Unbound 2011 – Photos

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2011 7:22 pm

    Looks like a really fabulous, incredible production! I wish I could have been there to see it in person. Any chance of it being performed again next year?

    • Vanessa Adelmann permalink*
      January 4, 2012 5:57 pm

      It was amazing. LA Unbound usually does a holiday show each year, but I’m not certain if they will repeat the Nutcracker or do something different. I will keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

