Skip to content

New directions in dance

November 20, 2011

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted, mainly because my dancing life has been plenty busy and I’ve had scant extra time for writing. I’m happy to say there are a lot of positive developments. Rehearsals, teaching, performances and exciting new businesses are all in the works. There will be plenty more to come on these developments, but this should give you a taste of things to come.

I have been deep in rehearsals for LA Unbound’s next extravaganza, Nutcracker Unbound. If you live in the Los Angeles area and act fast, you can still get tickets for this reimagined version of the Nutcracker. It has everything from ballet to jazz, tap, contemporary, aerialists and more. I’m very excited as this is my first Nutcracker (as I never studied ballet as a child), but also to become more deeply involved with this great group of people. For the first time I’m in not just one piece, but four. It has been a challenge on many levels – from 6 hours of rehearsals on Sundays, to learning difficult choreography, to keeping up with a 8 minute number. Overall though, I’m excited to be back on stage, to be dancing with my many friends in the company and to finally, finally say I’ve been in the Nutcracker!

By the way, if you don’t live in Los Angeles (or even if you do) and you want to support this production, they are raising funds through Kickstarter to help make this show even more spectacular. http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1233983746/the-nutcracker-unbound-a-new-holiday-tradition

That being said, my debut back on stage actually took place last month as part of LA’s Best Dancers, where I performed salsa and bachata. It was a lot of fun to be on a big stage again, and back in my element of partner dancing. After being away from ballroom and partner dancing for so long, it felt revitalizing to be in that world again, with new-found abilities courtesy of my scholarship program. I was amazed out how much easier it was to pick up choreography and execute movements. But most importantly was the confidence I had gained. I walked out onto the stage with a calmness that had previously felt elusive and somehow I felt more at home.

I am also entering the world of teaching. I’m still in the early stages of this venture, so I’ll pass along more details when ready. Suffice to say I’m looking forward to changing the teaching approach of partner dancing to help both beginner and more seasoned social dancers find more success.

And still under secret wraps are two new website projects. I’m working hard and furious with some amazing people to bring two amazing resources for dancers to life in the near future.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

