Skip to content

On saying thank you…

August 30, 2011

This week I am preparing to finish up my scholarship dance program.  It seems like only yesterday I was stocking up on my first pair of ballet slippers and a closet full of leotards.  Now that six months have passed, I am emerging from the cocoon that was my dance studio, transformed and blossoming as a dancer.  It has been a life-changing experience to say the least.

As part of my final preparations I have been writing thank you letters the old-fashioned way, with a real pen and stationery, to the teachers and staff at the studio.  It has been a slow process, given the 25 letters I have written so far, but a process that has reinforced for me the gift I have received in this program.  There is something about writing the words “thank you” and “gratitude” over and over again that helps to instill that mindset in the brain.  They are words we probably do not say and rarely write often enough.  It reminded me of other dance teachers I was grateful for that I never took the time to properly thank for their guidance and friendship over the years.

Here is a brief list of the many things I am grateful for from this program:

  • The opportunity to take 3-5 dance classes a day, 6-7 days a week for free.
  • Working with amazingly talented and gifted instructors who took the time to answer my questions on and off the dance floor.
  • Meeting the other scholarship students and making new friends.
  • Learning invaluable amounts about dance technique, performing, remembering choreography, body mechanics and new styles of dance.
  • Expanding the boundaries of my comfort zone and pushing myself to new levels.

There are many things which can be said about thanking others, but I shall stick to the simplicity of saying that a thank you and gratitude are never wasted sentiments.  It’s amazing how quickly a thank you can bring a smile to someone’s face.  Even on the days when we are tired, bruised and ready to give up, we generally have more to be thankful for than we ever acknowledge or realize – a roof over our head, food to eat, health, friends, family, freedom from war, a beautiful sunset.  If you have not already, take the time to show your appreciation to those around you.  It will be well worth the time and effort.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Carla Adelmann permalink
    October 8, 2011 2:08 pm

    Lovely sentiments, Vanessa! I see you are also a great writer…
    Love, Aunt Carla

Leave a Reply

