Skip to content

A big leap forward

March 16, 2011

My overdue post from last week has a good reason for being delayed.  I’ve been accepted into a full time dance scholarship program, which started two weeks ago.  To say the least I am excited, grateful and a bit overwhelmed.  It has meant adding in 18+ hours of dance classes over 6 days a week.  Needless to say it has had some impacts on my schedule, and the blog suffered momentarily for that.   Now that things are calming down and I’m settling into this new life dynamic, I’ll be posting about my experiences as I go from ballroom and folk dancer to being classically trained.

For the moment I am a bit of an oddity at the studio.  A ballroom and folk dancer who hasn’t been doing ballet since the age of 3, like many of the other dancers in the program.   On one hand, it is fun to know that I have a knowledge of dancing that few others there have, and on the other, it means taking a lot of beginner classes while I get up to speed and rewrite a lot of wiring in my brain about where my feet and arms go.  Most people who know me in real life are often surprised to hear that I have never taken ballet classes, despite being a good and somewhat accomplished dancer.  In fact, I took my very first class a scant 6 weeks ago as part of the audition process.  Surprisingly perhaps, I have absolutely loved it.  Although plenty of hard work and sweat goes into my tendus and plies, remembering first, second and third positions, and keeping my feet turned out, I feel little giggly and like a little kid in my black leotard and pink tights.  It’s like reclaiming a part of my childhood I never had.

The commitment and rigor are not to be trifled with though, and it requires a great deal of preparation each day to coordinate the many responsibilities of my existing business load, new business prospects and making sure to get things like eating and sleeping in.  I sometimes wonder if I can press the pause button on my clock to gain a few extra hours in the day.  Still in spite of the all the work, I feel utterly blessed and excited to have the momentous opportunity to train.  I can only imagine what doors may open down the road as a result of this endeavor and I have to contain my enthusiasm at times to stay focused on the task at hand.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2011 11:26 am

    Hi just discovered your blog may I know where is it that you got yr dance scholarship from? It sounds so awesome! Thank you!

    • Vanessa Adelmann permalink*
      July 25, 2011 11:20 pm

      Defore Dance Center in California. It is an amazing program!

Leave a Reply

