Skip to content

Making the commitment brings results

February 7, 2011

The saying “where there is a will, there is a way” has been a part of my life in many ways. It has helped me to overcome personal and family trials, achieve my education goals, pursue professional challenges and persevere in the face of difficulties. But dance was always easy. It wasn’t until I decided to make it my career path that things changed. Suddenly the waters seemed deep, scary and vast. So I played it safe, only barely dipping my toes into the water.

Photography by Jesse Therrien
Photograph by Jesse Therrien

However, in the paltry few weeks since my post at the beginning of the year committing myself to dance, all of that has changed. The frustration of not moving forward in dance has been transformed into a driving energy that says “this is what I want.” So, what all is happening in my life? In addition to attending and reviewing the shows I already posted about, I’m looking forward to covering Celebrate Dance next month here in LA and possibly a few other events. I’m taking classes, learning how to teach ballroom dance. I’ve been asked to join two performance groups – one is for an art opening, the other for an ongoing performance and competition team. And the biggest opportunity of them all – a full time dance scholarship at a noted local studio. I’m in the middle of the audition process still, but if that came through, could open the doors to finally dancing full time.

I do not yet know where all these doors may lead, or even which ones will remain open, but I feel optimistic and excited to see that stepping boldly in that direction has made all the difference.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 12, 2011 12:13 am

    I’m so excited for you and all of your energy! Best of luck in the audition process for the scholarship — wow! Please keep sharing your experiences. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

