Skip to content

The next steps

October 19, 2009

It has been awhile since my last update on my personal world of dance.  In the intervening time I have been busy pursuing opportunities and avenues for dancing.  First is the upcoming performance with LA Unbound.  It’s just a few weeks away and we’ve been busy with rehearsals.  I’m looking forward to my first performance style dance exhibition in many, many years.  It’s been a joy to meet other professional dancers, to share in the excitement of an upcoming performance and see people’s faces light up as they went through the dance numbers at the recent dress rehearsal.  For anyone in the LA/OC area, I encourage you to come out and watch.  There are 24 dance pieces with a wide range of styles.  It’s also a great way to support local choreographers and the dance community.  Information on showtimes and tickets are on their website at http://launbound.com/.

For next year’s spring production I’ve started brainstorming and hope to submit a piece of my own choreography, in addition to joining one or two other numbers. I won’t give too many details away as it is still very early in the process, but I’m hoping to combine ballroom and lyrical dance in a very unique way while telling a compelling story. It’s been a long time since I have been so inspired by a piece of music and I’m sure a sign of things to come.

In the spirit of expanding boundaries in dance, I’ve also joined up with a modern Irish group to do fusion dance work with Irish, ballroom and contemporary/jazz.  It is a rare day indeed when a group is looking for someone with both folk dancing experience AND other training to combine them on stage.  And I’m happy I met those unique dance qualifications.  Now if only I could put the Hungarian dance skills to use.   I’m pretty excited about the prospects with this group and also the chance to try my hand at choreography.

My ballroom dance partner has been recovering from an injury and is mostly healed up.  We’re excited about getting back into training and are starting to set out our competition calendar for the upcoming year.

I also recently signed up as a volunteer instructor for Dance Adelante.  It is a program based in the Los Angeles area that brings Latin dancing to elementary and middle school children for free through their schools.  I am still waiting for my first assignment, but I am very excited to be a part of this organization and to further its mission. I also encourage you to read more about Dance Adelante and support them.   I believe in sharing dance with the community at large and hope this will be the first of many opportunities to engage others in dancing.

In addition to all the wonderful things I’ve already mentioned, I have a few more major prospects in the works.  It’s too early to tell the world the details yet, but rest assured they will be big and exciting.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

